Countries where Gay Marriage is Legal 2020 | Same Sex Marriage

Same Sex Marriage
Spread the love

11. Denmark ( 15 June 2012 )


In 1989, Denmark became the first country to allow same-sex couples to register as domestic partners.

On 7 June 2012, Danish Parliament passed a bill legalizing gay marriage. These laws permit same-sex couples to get married in the Church of Denmark.

The bill took effect on 15 June 2012 when Queen Margrethe II gave her royal assent to the bill.

12. Brazil ( 16 May 2013 )


On May 14, 2013, Brazil’s National Council of Justice ruled that same-sex couples should not be denied marriage licenses, thus legalizing same-sex marriage in the entire country. The law came into effect on 16 May 2013.



13. France ( 18 May 2013 )


On 17 May 2013, the Constitutional Council declared the bill legal. On May 18 2013, French President Francois Hollande signed it into law a measure legalizing same-sex marriage, making France the 14th country to grant gays and lesbians the right to wed.

14-17. United Kingdom


The United Kingdom consists of four constituent countries: England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland.

England & Wales ( 17 July 2013 ) : On July 17, 2013, the bill received royal assent from Queen Elizabeth II, legalizing same-sex marriage in England and Wales. The law only applies to England and Wales because Scotland and Northern Ireland have separate legislative bodies to decide many domestic issues. Law which came into force on 13 March 2014.

Scotland ( 16 Dec. 2014 ) : On 4 February 2014, the Scottish Parliament passed legislation legalizing same-sex marriage. The law took effect on 16 December 2014

Northern Ireland ( 13 Jan. 2020 ) : Northern Ireland had been the last part of the UK where same-sex marriage was banned. Northern Ireland passed same-sex marriage bill in December 2019 and came into effect on 13 January 2020.

18. Uruguay ( 5 Aug. 2013 )


Uruguay’s Chamber of Deputies passed a bill on On 10 April 2013 to give marriage rights to gay couples. The president promulgated the law on 3 May 2013 and the law took effect on 5 August.

19. New Zealand ( 19 Aug. 2013 )


On 17 April 2013, the New Zealand Parliament gave final approval to legalizes same-sex marriage. The bill received royal assent from the Governor General on 19 April and took effect on 19 August 2013.


20. Luxembourg ( 1 Jan. 2015 )


On 18 June 2014 Luxembourg’s Parliament approved a bill to legalize same-sex wedding and to adopt children. The law took effect on 1 January 2015.



21. United States ( 26 June 2015 )


In June 2015, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled in the landmark decision that same-sex marriage is guaranteed by both the Due Process Clause and the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution. and the Constitution guarantees it throughout the country.

Court interpret the 14th Amendment, and states that limiting marriage only to heterosexual couples violates the amendment’s guarantee of equal protection under the law.

22. Ireland ( 16 November 2015 )


On May 22, 2015, Ireland became the first country to legalize same-sex wedding through a popular nationwide referendum. referendum proposed  “marriage may be contracted in accordance with law by two persons without distinction as to their sex”.

The proposal was approved with 62% of voters says YES to same-sex marriage. Same-sex-marriage legally recognized in Ireland on 16 November 2015.

23. Colombia ( 28 April 2016 )


On April 28, 2016, Colombia became the fourth country in Catholic-majority South America to legalize same-sex wedding.

The country’s Constitutional Court ruled that same-sex couples are allowed to enter into civil marriages in the country and that judges and notaries are barred from refusing to perform same-sex weddings.

24. Greenland ( 1 April 2016 )


Greenland, world’s largest island, is an autonomous territory within the Kingdom of Denmark. Therefore Denmark’s same-sex wedding law doesn’t apply on Greenland.

However, in May 2015 a bill is passed by Parliament of Greenland to legalize same-sex wedding. The bill was given royal assent on 3 February, taking effect on 1 April 2016.

25. Slovenia ( 24 Feb. 2017 )


On 21 April 2016, the Assembly approved the bill to give same-sex partnerships all rights of marriage, except joint adoption and vitro fertilisation.

The law took effect on 24 May 2016 and it became operational on 24 February 2017.



5 1 vote
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x