Countries where Gay Marriage is Legal 2020 | Same Sex Marriage

Same Sex Marriage
Spread the love

Same-sex marriage or gay marriage is the marriage of two people of the same sex or gender. Yet gay practices remains banned in many countries, But in many countries many organization working continuously for the rights of LGBT. 

A growing number of countries are legalizing same-sex marriage. So far, 35 countries and territories have enacted national laws allowing gays and lesbians to marry, mostly in Europe and the Americas. While every country allow same-sex marriage nationwide but few Countries like In Mexico, only some jurisdictions allow same-sex couples to wed.

Below is a list of countries that have legalized the Same-sex marriage:

1. Netherlands ( 1 April 2001 )


In December 2000, the Netherlands became the first country to legalize same-sex marriage. A same-sex marriage bill passed by Dutch parliament in 2000, taking effect on 1 April 2001. The law gave same-sex couples the right to marry, divorce and adopt children. 


2. Belgium ( 1 June 2003 )


Belgium became the second country in the world to legally recognize same-sex marriages when a bill passed by the Belgian Parliament took effect on 1 June 2003.

In 2006, the parliament also granted same-sex partners the right to adopt children.


3. Spain ( 3 July 2005 )


Spain was the third country in the world to legalize same-sex marriage. Spanish parliament legalized same-sex marriage in 2005, took effect on 1 June 2003, guaranteeing equal rights to all married couples regardless of sexual orientation.


4. Canada ( 20 July 2005 )


Through a series of court cases beginning in 2003, same-sex marriage gradually became legal in nine of the country’s 13 provinces and territories. In 2005, the Canadian Parliament passed legislation making same-sex marriage legal nationwide.

5. South Africa ( 30 Nov. 2006 )

The South African parliament passed same-sex marriage law on 14 November 2006, by a vote of 230 to 41. took effect on 30 November 2006. South Africa became the fifth country, the first in Africa, and the second outside Europe, to legalize same-sex marriage. 


6. Norway ( 1 Jan. 2009 )


Same-sex marriage became legal in Norway on 1 January 2009. Since January 2009, gay couples in Norway legally have been able to marry, adopt children and undergo artificial insemination.


7. Sweden ( 1 May 2009 )


Same-sex marriage in Sweden has been legal since 1 May 2009, following the new gender neutral law on marriage passed by the Swedish Parliament on 1 April 2009.

The 2009 law allows gays and lesbians to marry in both religious and civil ceremonies. Sweden become the seventh country in the world to open marriage to same-sex couples nationwide.

8. Portugal ( 5 June 2010 )


On 11 February 2010, Parliament approved a bill legalizing same-sex marriage. The law took effect on 5 June 2010. Portugal became the eighth country to legalize same-sex marriage.

In December 2015, the Portuguese Parliament approved a bill to recognise adoptions rights for same-sex couples. It came into effect in March 2016.

9. Iceland ( 27 June 2010 )


Iceland had allowed same-sex couples to register as domestic partners since 1996. The legislation on same-sex marriage was passed on 11 June 2010, and took effect on 27 June 2010.

The country’s prime minister, Johanna Sigurdardottir, and her longtime partner, Jonina Leosdottir, were among the first people to marry under the law.

10. Argentina ( 22 July 2010 )


First country in Latin America to legalize same-sex marriage. tenth in the world to legalize same-sex marriage.

On 15 July 2010, the Argentine Senate approved a bill legalizing same-sex wedding. It was supported by the government and opposed by the Catholic Church. The law took effect on 22 July 2010.



5 1 vote
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x